Basic questions

Started by Chojin, June 02, 2016, 08:03:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chojin

Hi,
I am a beginner and I am currently trying to get better at the Game Boy Tetris.
Overall I think I approved already but my highscore is still only about 283k, one "online friend" keeps telling me the counter stop (999k) would be easy to reach on that Tetris and that I should just play more.
But no matter how much I play, I feel like I rather lack a solid strategy and that all achievements are kind of based on luck. Llke when you play let's say 20 runs, one of them oviously must be rather good in terms of your standards, and that is exactly what makes me think even on the level I am, I can not play constantly in terms of always playing as good as I am so far). Also I have to become faster though I think. Whenever I reach Level 13 or something, I panic and soon I'm dead.
I did hit the guides already but in theory everything I read seems obvious (proper upstacking for instance), practically it is not that simple of course.

Another major problem I have is the following: In order to avoid the so called crap (useless gaps) while at the same time not always being able to stack up properly, I have that style of play that when being "unlucky" (which brings me back to lacking a solid strategy that always works) my stack ends up being several stacks that are hard to stack down so I restart or die trying to make up with that mess. It looks like this then for instance:

Or sometimes even when I am lucky enough to stack up even and just perfectly, then sometimes it doesn't give me an I (the long piece one need for tetris) and I go game over with a perfect stack with the gap for Tetris on the side.

Would be cool to talk to you guys about that here, hope you dont mind me not using all the specific proper terms yet. Thx!

Okey_Dokey

HardDrop's Gameboy Tetris highscore thread