Customising Nullpo into TOP

Started by StS, December 23, 2011, 04:34:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

StS

I recently started playing TOP and really liked the feel of it, and so (in order to waste my christmas holidays on useless stuff) I am endeavouring to recreate the TOP's atmosphere in Nullpomino. I have never tampered with programs before, so I may be doing fairly stupid stuff, but please bear with me.  

Till now, I've been concentrating on the sound effects (as it is the easiest to replace/deal with, and it has the most impact on the feel of the game, IMO), and I have gotten some of it done, but am having trouble with certain aspects:

- I have replaced the combo wav files in the Nullpo SE folder, but they are apparently not used in the Line or Dig Race? Does anyone know where specifically these files are used?

- TSpin files don't seem to be have any effect either; is this because the 'erase' files take precedence when playing line clear sound effects?

- Is there a way to implement different SEs for b2b clears? This is not very important, but if anyone can help me out, I'd love to get it done

- Finally, where the heck is TOP's hard drop sound effect stored? The 'sfx' folder contains a sound for hard drops, but it's definitely not what you hear when playing the game...

I'd be grateful if someone who knows his way around with the mechanics of either game could help me out here, or at least point me in the right direction, as I am currently struggling more that I expected.  
Sandal that Stinks

Current 40L (Nullpo): 35.32s

Wojtek

Quote from: StS
- I have replaced the combo wav files in the Nullpo SE folder, but they are apparently not used in the Line or Dig Race? Does anyone know where specifically these files are used?
combo sounds in nullpomino are not used in modes that do not score combo, try marathon mode or netplay.