General Improvement Advice

Started by eight, September 19, 2011, 07:12:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

eight

I started Tetris about a year ago and only recently joined harddrop. I'm looking for advice to improve my game because I'm trying to get serious about Tetris, but I haven't exactly acquired all the necessary skills.

Here's my background:

I started playing on TF, which has heavily influenced my key configuration (where I need some advice). Only recently have I started learning to rotate both ways, but I feel like my key configuration is awkward. I have the default TF settings with the V key as left rotate, so I pretty much have my old configuration with just an added key. I'd really appreciate any alternative configurations that have worked well for others.

In terms of other aspects of my game, my fastest time on 40 lines was 39.51 on nullpomino, but I was only rotating right. After getting that time, I stopped working on 40 lines and shifted my focus to the arena mode on TF to work on other skills such as spins and practicing left rotations. In arena, I generally start out with a b2b tetrises and move into t-spins. I think I'm pretty good at setting up and using t-spins doubles, but I can't set up t-spin triples as well and rarely use them. I know how to S and Z spin to fix errors, but that's pretty much the extent of my knowledge on spins. I generally do pretty well in arena and win most of the time, but I sometimes encounter players who just wipe me off the board. I don't think it's my speed either, because I'm generally going at the same pace. So yeah, I'd really appreciate advice on any part of my game that could use tweaking or improvement. Thanks

Paradox

i'd have to watch you play to see what problems you have against certain people. You are a pretty fast player so it is probably something to do with APL or downstacking.