mzhang - Introduction

Started by mzhang, June 29, 2009, 01:59:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mzhang

Hi all,

I was first introduced to Tetris back in 4th grade when my parents bought me my first Game Boy, and Tetris came free. I played for a little in the car but soon became bored because I wasn't very good at it.

In my senior year of high school, many of my friends had "Ztris" installed on their calculators and played it during class. I tried playing but was terrible at it. I distinctly remember not understanding how people figured out the "right place" for each block.

A little while afterwards, I began playing N-blox online. With the advent of Facebook applications, specifically N-blox evil edition, I started playing tetris against other people and immediately became hooked. Now, I am glad to meet many of you who are so knowledgeable about Tetris because I still have much to learn.

I dislike t-spins (tetrises should be worth more), love the feeling of efficient stacking (it's beautiful), and use only the up key to rotate (atm refusing to learn to rotate both ways). My favorite modes are 40 lines/battle. I am 19 years old and a rising junior at Duke University. I don't know what I want to do with my life, but hopefully it will involve less tetris (it's too addicting!). I love travelling.

Corrosive

Quote from: mzhang
I dislike t-spins (tetrises should be worth more), love the feeling of efficient stacking (it's beautiful)

Amen. Dude I live in NC I go to High Point University. I'm gonna be a Junior in the fall too. How is Duke?? Rich mofo.
"私は高速ブロックとセクシーな女性が好き"
"Put some stank on those blocks."

Blink

Junior at Duke and barely 19 years old?  smart guy, welcome!

Rosti_LFC

atm refusing to learn to rotate both ways
You're going to have to eventually if you want to actually get good. No point delaying the inevitable.

jujube