Very general question

Started by Jeroen, August 11, 2013, 05:34:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeroen

Hey guys!

So, I'm new to this community and all. I'm just a guy who likes to play Tetris. For some reason it calms me to hyperactively spam my keyboard playing this game. I'd also like to improve myself. Get better. From what I've seen on this forum so far, everyone here is better than me, has a lot more knowledge than me and has been around here for ages...

So far I've never spoken to anyone about Tetris, except for some reallife friends who just remember the game from their old gameboy and don't even know you can do things like harddropping pieces. So basically, I don't know all the shortcuts or terms used. I just know some of the game variants out there.

My main question is: How do I improve myself?
My common sense tells me: Just play a huge amount of games, and you'll get better. But I've been playing 4-6 hours a day for about 7-8 months straight now, and I don't feel I've been improving a lot in the last two months or so. Or in other words, my improvement seems to have halted.

To give you guys an idea of my current 'skill level', when I play 2P Tetrisfriends I can about hold on at level 20. When I play on Tetris Battle (Facebook) I'm at around level 87/88, and according to Cultris 2, my average blocks per minute speed is around 85-90 BPM.

When playing on Facebook or TetrisFriends, I usually just stack and go for back-to-back Tetrisses. I can do T-spins, but I'm having trouble setting them up, and I'm too slow when doing it. When playing Cultris 2, I tru combo'ing, but not very succesfully I might add. I believe my max combo is 9 or 10, and I usually don't get higher than 6 or 7 in a game.