HOME WORLD FORUMS WIKI VIDEOS
9580 members and stacking!
     Welcome guest, please login or sign up

16 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hard Drop Feature Suggestion Page, Features you want to see on HD!
meow
post Jan 2 2011, 07:31 AM
Post #31


Tetris Professional
Group Icon
Posts: 772
Joined: 27-June 09



QUOTE(Blink @ Jan 2 2011, 03:50 PM) *

I think the control+click problem only happens in webkit browsers (chrome and safari). They used to also have a problem where middle clicking would open in both the new tab + current tab, but that's since been fixed. I would suggest middle clicking to open in a new tab until either I fix the problem or they do with webkit.


Using Firefox 3.6.x, I can confirm that the caffeine's ctrl+click behaviour is replicable.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Blink
post Jan 2 2011, 07:46 AM
Post #32


Tetris God
Group Icon
Posts: 3,006
Joined: 24-June 09



QUOTE(meow @ Jan 1 2011, 11:31 PM) *

Using Firefox 3.6.x, I can confirm that the caffeine's ctrl+click behaviour is replicable.


Okay, does anybody see something wrong with the button code that might be causing the behavior?

CODE
    <td class="dmenu" onclick="java script:window.location.href='http://harddrop.com/wiki/';" onmouseover="this.className='dmenu2';showMenux('memmenux4');" onmouseout="this.className='dmenu';hideMenux()">
        <a href="http://harddrop.com/wiki/">WIKI</a>
    </td>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
larrytetris
post Jan 2 2011, 08:26 AM
Post #33


Tetris Professional
Group Icon
Posts: 935
Joined: 23-May 10



QUOTE(Blink @ Jan 2 2011, 07:46 AM) *

Okay, does anybody see something wrong with the button code that might be causing the behavior?

CODE
    <td class="dmenu" onclick="java script:window.location.href='http://harddrop.com/wiki/';" onmouseover="this.className='dmenu2';showMenux('memmenux4');" onmouseout="this.className='dmenu';hideMenux()">
        <a href="http://harddrop.com/wiki/">WIKI</a>
    </td>



Is the border around the text defined as the same thing as the text? The blue color within the text (e.g. inside the O in "FORUMS") is part of the link. Otherwise I'm clueless about the coding.


--------------------

Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.
~Martin Luther King Jr.

IPB Image

QUOTE(DarthDuck @ Oct 19 2011, 09:14 PM) *

Larry can polymer spin and reinvent tetris itself while he plays
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xlro
post Jan 2 2011, 01:47 PM
Post #34


Tetris Expert
Group Icon
Posts: 456
Joined: 5-August 09



QUOTE(Blink @ Jan 2 2011, 07:46 AM) *

Okay, does anybody see something wrong with the button code that might be causing the behavior?

CODE
    <td class="dmenu" onclick="java script:window.location.href='http://harddrop.com/wiki/';" onmouseover="this.className='dmenu2';showMenux('memmenux4');" onmouseout="this.className='dmenu';hideMenux()">
        <a href="http://harddrop.com/wiki/">WIKI</a>
    </td>


well it behaves correctly (as in how you coded it) I'd say, since ctrl+left click (in contrast to middle click) triggers the onclick event in the browser, so it executes your js that loads the page in the current tab + the ctrl-click on a normal <a> link opens it also in a new tab

maybe it is possible to check in the onclick handler / code, if the click was done with ctrl held down? not sure, but would be an option /quickfix - my js is very rusty :)

edit:

ok, I quickly had a look, you can add an easy check, by modifying it like this:

CODE
onclick="java script:if(!event.ctrlKey){window.location.href='http://harddrop.com/wiki/';}"


as before, the ctrl+click (as well as the middle click) wont work ofc, if you dont hit the actual link (<a>), but the box around.

personally I would just remove the onclick event from the td box, this way there are no issues for any kind of click (with just a normal <a>), it's not like the boxes are really big, or ppl wouldn't click on the text anyway


--------------------
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
XaeL
post Jan 2 2011, 01:53 PM
Post #35


Tetris God
Group Icon
Posts: 2,918
Joined: 30-June 09



QUOTE(caffeine @ Dec 28 2010, 03:09 PM) *

I may as well...

Am I the only one here who ctrl+clicks? For example, say I'm on the home page and am chatting on the shoutbox. Now, say I want to open the forums in a new tab. Under normal behavior, I'd be able to hold down ctrl and click on the "forums" button near the top of the home page. This would simply open a new tab for the forum. However, the buttons up there are funky. If I ctrl+click them, they open the page in a new tab and the current tab.

Small, insignificant annoyance, though. No biggie.

That hapens to me too

Btw caffeine i use mouse3 (aka middle click) its faster than ctrl+click but does same thing.


--------------------
IPB Image


QUOTE(Paradox @ Dec 16 2010 @ 05:52 PM)
Like many setups here, it is useful if your opponent doesn't move and you get 4 Ts in a row.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dakhath
post Jan 2 2011, 07:06 PM
Post #36


Tetris Apprentice
Group Icon
Posts: 109
Joined: 17-October 10



QUOTE(xlro @ Jan 2 2011, 08:47 AM) *

ok, I quickly had a look, you can add an easy check, by modifying it like this:

CODE
onclick="java script:if(!event.ctrlKey){window.location.href='http://harddrop.com/wiki/';}"


as before, the ctrl+click (as well as the middle click) wont work ofc, if you dont hit the actual link (<a>), but the box around.

personally I would just remove the onclick event from the td box, this way there are no issues for any kind of click (with just a normal <a>), it's not like the boxes are really big, or ppl wouldn't click on the text anyway



You beat me to it. Yeah, that fix works fine (and I just tested in Firebug to verify this)... but I kinda agree that using it on every single button is a little bit redundant. If you're concerned about people missing the text in the boxes, turn them into images and use image rollovers instead. That might slow down your page load time, but I'm thinking most of us are on broadband anyway so it wouldn't be noticeable.


--------------------
IPB Image
I'm an admin over at Visionary Tales. Yeah, we're a role playing forum. Yes, this means I'm geekier than you are.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rosti_LFC
post Jan 2 2011, 08:44 PM
Post #37


Tetris Grand Master
Group Icon
Posts: 1,237
Joined: 26-June 09



QUOTE(Zircean @ Jan 2 2011, 07:18 AM) *

What is this, MySpace?

Next we'll be having really irritating and intrusive music that plays automatically when you're on someone's profile.

Ohwait...

Also, an actual suggestion:

Can we have a different emoticon for tongue.gif than the one currently there? Or just no emoticon at all? The one that's currently there is totally different to what I ever intend to be there when I write it :\

CODE
<Rosti> does it annoy anyone else
<Rosti> that the emoticon for ":P" on HD is totally not what :P usually represents?
<clincher> YES
<Zircean> yes omg
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
coolmaninsano
post Jan 2 2011, 08:53 PM
Post #38


Tetris Novice
Group Icon
Posts: 0
Joined: 29-March 10



I like the tongue.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rosti_LFC
post Jan 2 2011, 08:55 PM
Post #39


Tetris Grand Master
Group Icon
Posts: 1,237
Joined: 26-June 09



I don't mind it as an emoticon, but it needs a different handle.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xlro
post Jan 2 2011, 08:57 PM
Post #40


Tetris Expert
Group Icon
Posts: 456
Joined: 5-August 09



on that subject: I'd like a setting in the user options that automatically unchecks the "Enable emoticons?" checkbox in the post options per default, thx
since the images especially for the common :) ;) and :P all pretty much suck, text is the way to go here


--------------------
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jan 2 2011, 09:45 PM
Post #41




Posts: 0
Joined: --



QUOTE(xlro @ Jan 2 2011, 08:57 PM) *

on that subject: I'd like a setting in the user options that automatically unchecks the "Enable emoticons?" checkbox in the post options per default, thx
since the images especially for the common :) ;) and :P all pretty much suck, text is the way to go here


i second that ! :)
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jan 2 2011, 09:57 PM
Post #42




Posts: 0
Joined: --



Hey man, Tetris is personal, so we should have personal backgrounds for our personal pages biggrin.gif
Yes, new emoticons PLEASE. The ones on the Page comments are nice. Or my AIM ones are nice
IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
coolmaninsano
post Jan 2 2011, 10:00 PM
Post #43


Tetris Novice
Group Icon
Posts: 0
Joined: 29-March 10



QUOTE(chopin @ Jan 2 2011, 01:57 PM) *

Yes, new emoticons PLEASE. The ones on the Page comments are nice. Or my AIM ones are nice
http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/7421/skdfj.png

icon4.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Blink
post Jan 2 2011, 10:03 PM
Post #44


Tetris God
Group Icon
Posts: 3,006
Joined: 24-June 09



Emoticons are going to stay on the forums, but I'll change to a different emoticon set rather than the current default one.

Using this code caused the page to stop loading:
CODE
onclick="java script:if(!event.ctrlKey){window.location.href='http://harddrop.com/wiki/';}"


it just loaded a blank white page instead.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
coolmaninsano
post Jan 2 2011, 10:11 PM
Post #45


Tetris Novice
Group Icon
Posts: 0
Joined: 29-March 10



Err disregard my suggestion of halving the images/fumens in replies, instead it just shows the link and not the whole image/fumen/youtube.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

16 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

©2009-2014 Hard Drop Community & Forum
harddrop.com is not sponsored or endorsed by The Tetris Company or its subsidiaries.