Puyo Puyo Tetris is a Terrible Game and I Hate It

Started by Steelix100, October 08, 2017, 09:35:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

exchliore

Quote from: Steelix100

Hi Steelix100,

Welcome to Harddrop. I feel like ppt was made for casual gamers to have fun and that ppt succeeded at being very fun for the general masses. I also think we all generally agree that Puyo vs Tetris is not fair and I don't think it is something that can be easily balanced. However, I believe that the game of Puyo can evolve with hard drops and no piece delays and that the future of ppt can become very interesting once that happens (maybe ppt2).

I am not very good at Puyo and I cannot speak much to the game, but your insight on depth in Puyo (ie. watching other people's screens, planning your moves) is very much like depth in the early days of Tetris when we were all slow and did the same things. Not only that, I believe high level players still do all of these things when they play (I certainly pay attention to my opponents' fields).

I didn't read all of the words you wrote as there were too many and I only have so much room in my head to comprehend them all, but from what I gathered is that your view of Tetris isn't a very good representation of the game. More specifically, openings are only openings and good players will be good.

There's a lot of focus on openings in your discussions and I do not think it is fair to judge Tetris based on openings. You can spend all your time working on an opening, but openings in Tetris are simply vehicles to progress to the middle game. Against the average Tetris player, you will find that making no opening is equivalent to any generic standard opening (I will discuss 4wide later). You do not need to study all the openings in depth and I hope that Tetris isn't an exercise in rote memorization for you. It is perfectly fine to choose one standard opening that you think is the best or that you are most comfortable playing.