Speed

Started by StevieSmiley, February 11, 2016, 01:26:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

StevieSmiley

I've been playing for a few years now, but my speed has seem capped right around the 60 LPM and was wondering why.

I recently moved from Tetrisfriends to TOP mainly because flash in my browser has been acting broke - somehow freezing the rooms and pissing people off. Besides, I was getting a bit tired of the lag. I wasn't able to enjoy TOP previous to this until I came across wonderland mod, which is great btw. The first thing I noticed was there's more Koreans than anyone else there. And practically everyone is 3 x faster than I am. There's lag, but very little compared to TF. Perhaps TF's lag was capping my progress all along?

The other thing I thought about was possibly keyboard layout. I'm not even sure why I chose the buttons I use, but now I'm wondering if having the hard drop as the top arrow slows me down.

z,x ( rotations ) space ( hold ) left and right arrows ( placement ) up and down ( hard and soft drop )

I don't really want to change this because I'm so used to it now.  But would it hinder my speed at all?

Goldenshadow

If you are looking to increase your in game speed one way to do it is by isolating different skills within the game- then practicing them individually. I've seen many players who have fast 40 lines times who are slower in game because their t-spin sight or down stacking ability is lower. The time it takes to think about those aspects of the game slows down their average speed.

The reverse is also true, some players that are strong when it comes to t-spinning or downstacking can be slow because their stacking speed is slow. My advice would be to identify what skills are relatively weak in your game and then work on them. Need to get better at knowing how to downstack? Play some dig related game. Speed? 40 lines. Tspinning? Ultra.