How to get faster?

Started by Danieru, December 18, 2016, 03:52:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Danieru

Hello, I haven't posted on here for awhile but I am hoping to spark some answers with this burning question of mine that is, how do I go about to increase my speed - PPS (other than the usual "practice more") are there any ways like techniques that I can use to do so?

Right now for my keybinds I use arrow keys (for rotations) and T for hard drop and so on, does not using space bar for hard drop and using other keys instead limit my speed?

I have grown so used to using this style, but recently these past few months I have been switching to the default keybinds you see on TF as an example. I managed to get around 33-35sec sprint times with bad finesse but would go back to my usual keybinds the following day.

Thanks,

Danieru.
Just an Irish tetris player.

jackh1771

I was stuck for like 6 months around 33 and then I started playing with hidden current piece in nullpo because I saw caffeine talking about it. Here is Integrations mod with the option to hide current piece:
http://harddrop.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=5949

I had already gotten down finesse but I just played 40 lines and tried to get within 5 seconds of my normal time before I went for a normal PB that day. Now my hidden time is within 2 seconds of my normal time - 27.6 and 29.6

I pretty much only play hidden piece sprint because I think it's good practice to look at my queue and know how to put down each piece without seeing it. It can be frustrating but keep at it. Also I switched from default tf controls to Blink's controls in September 2015 after looking at the keyboard bindings thread for a bit

Danieru

Quote from: jackh1771
I was stuck for like 6 months around 33 and then I started playing with hidden current piece in nullpo because I saw caffeine talking about it. Here is Integrations mod with the option to hide current piece:
http://harddrop.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=5949