I'm new to tetris, need help!

Started by Min, September 16, 2014, 08:29:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Min

Before I say anything, I looked around this forum and found some pretty good info, things about 2 something whatever it was called and some other stuff.
I checked this website, but many of the links are gone.
http://harddrop.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=4143

Let me introduce myself. I'm kind of new at tetris. Played a lot of tetris with friends, and especially in math class
>.< zTris! I think it's because of this game ZTris I have been accustomed to rotating only one side. My TF time is somewhere between 1:30-1:45. I only rotate once, I don't really look at the next pieces, and I use standard controls (I read somewhere i should change it, preferably up as hard drop) I'm trying to get used to this, and hopefully I want to become really good at tetris. I downloaded Nullpomino, and am going to check that out pretty soon.

TL;DR: Hi I'm new, I dont know if this is the place I should be posting but.. I need advice, the type the beginners will get, such as controls, getting used to using both rotates (i only use the standard TetrisFriends up*), and any other information i should know, such as the two method or whatever it was called. I want to be better. I WILL BE BETTER. kk thx

jkwon23

Playing games in CLASS. that's CLASS-ic.

Here's "2 method or whatever it was called" http://harddrop.com/wiki/0G_60_Hz_SRS_Movement_Finesse

you need something called DAS, this basically makes you move faster,
and ARR, idk what this is, but it's supposed to make your pieces move even faster.

Sirjeivus's fantastic guide on explaining what is DAS and ARR

officegunner

Hi min! Welcome to HD! I hope you enjoy your stay.

If you don't play with previews, why not play cultris II!

Cultris II is one of the fastest tetris games around, and only has one preview, so you can get used to it quickly!