Looking for some advice on DAS settings/finesse

Started by pwn_by_numbers, January 31, 2014, 03:55:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pwn_by_numbers

Hi guys,

I started playing Tetris about a year ago, and saw steady progress in all areas of my play (sprint time, arena rank, etc.), but I recently started plateauing, and I'm trying to figure out what I can do to start improving again.

Lately, I'm starting to think that my DAS settings or lack of proper finesse is what is holding me back. I misdrop so often that I have to restart >90% of my sprint games. I always thought this was normal, and just a result of trying to play at top speed, but I also misdrop a ton in multiplayer games - I think more than a lot of players do. I've noticed that I consistently will score 30 or 40 lines more than the 2nd place player and still lose in arena, and it's starting to seem like the only reason that I'm losing is misdrops. Anyway, I'm starting to realize that my sloppy play is holding me back, but I'm not really sure what I can do to stop misdropping so often.

The reason I suspect my tuning might be an issue is I sometimes get misdrops where the piece will seem to move after I place it. I recorded a replay of a typical sprint game for me (not my best) in Nullpo to show what I'm talking about:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772976/misdrop.rep

I do fine until around 26 sec, where I get a weird misdrop, and it's all downhill from there. This is with the default DAS settings on Nullpo (0 AR and 7 DAS I believe). On TF I have to play with DAS set to 2 (I prefer max AR) or I misdrop nearly every peice. I can't even comprehend how some players can play with DAS set to 5... do I have a bad keyboard? I know a lot of players with slower sprints than me who play with much higher DAS, what gives? (Here's my TF profile if you want to look at my sprint replay there: http://www.tetrisfriends.com/users/profile.php?id=3833100)