Pheeb

Started by Pheeb, July 19, 2011, 08:24:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pheeb

I play as Pheeb on Tetris Friends.  Pheeb is derived from the word feeble, which means a weak or half-hearted attempt.  When I chose that name I was actually not familiar with the ubiquitous term noob.  Pheeb has the obvious similarity to the female name Phoebe, but I am a dude.  

I Started playing tetris on Nintendo/Gameboy in the '80s.  Played like 2 hours a day. Got really good.  Tried to compete with other people, but I just beat everybody.  Nobody I knew was as into it as I was, so it was just like a personal hobby.

I still have my Nintendo (for 25 years), with Tetris, still loaded into it.  I'm afraid to take it out because it might not work again.  I played it all the time by myself.  I never had internet because I couldn't really afford it.  I'd just sit and chill and play Tetris.  Or, if I had stuff on my mind I would play Tetris.  Or, if I was bored I'd play Tetris.  I looked at it like meditation.  I never did T-spins or combos or any of that, I just played as fast as I could to keep my mind busy.

I just recently got an internet connection.  The first thing I did was sign up for Tetris Friends, which I was just so thrilled to find.  I played through to the gold rooms pretty easy, then the real fun began.

I am so happy that there are so many wonderful Tetris players.  I like fast players, artful players and players that do beautiful set-ups.    I like players that play really well, and those that can't really play at all.  The whole game of Tetris is a wonderful thing and I just love it.  

What I don't like is people that cheat.  I don't like people that call names, good natured ribbing excepted.  I don't understand why people make fake accounts and behave in a derogatory or deceitful manner.   All that does is make Tetris not fun.  But, I refuse to let their mental illness deter me.