Previously overcome with apprehension, despite a desire to post.

Started by Imperatore_Magia, October 02, 2010, 04:53:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Imperatore_Magia

I joined over two months ago, but I was a bit hesitant to post, since a cursory snoop of the forums engendered feelings of inadequacy about my Tetris skills.  Averaging about 45 LPM and being unable to beat the speed demons one finds in most competitive modes.
I've been playing Tetris for about six years now, and I find competitive play almost impossible as my preferred version is the old gameboy one, and I am regrettably sans link cable.  
That probably wouldn't make a great deal of difference anyway, considering I don't know anybody in real life that can manage more than about 10 or 20 LPM.  
So, I play solo.

I'm hoping to improve my game to the point where I can become a formidable foe, since I really love this game, despite not being much of a competitive player.  I use it as more of a stress reliever, and playing against other people presently has the reverse result on me.  

Also, will it be possible to break bad habits such as over stacking and not using the counter clockwise rotation?  I find it far too tempting to lapse into these habits.  

T-spins, and combos are also things I need to work on.  I've yet to manage a T-spin triple against another player, and my max combo is around ten.  

So, what would the denizens of this site recommend I do to get better?  

As a side note;  Has anybody here ever played the RPG Maker 2000 version of Tetris?  That is the one that got me into it in the first place, and looking back on it now, it makes the NES versions look advanced.  If anyone is morbidly curious they can download it here.  If it doesn't run, then the run-time package is required.

crzy242

45 LPM on where? multiplayer? because that isnt bad at all.